Connections Guide

Connections are the people you’re sharing specific Engrams (content) with on Escendant. Typically a Connection will have received your connection invite, joined Escendant if they have not already done so and finally accepted your connection request.

Connections are by default two-way, meaning once you’re connected with someone on the Escendant platform both of you will have the ability to share your Engrams with each other.

Once connected with someone you can share your Engrams with them. For example if you have a friend who shares your passion for fishing then you can share any engrams you create related to fishing. How sharing works is covered later in this guide. To summarise: Connections can be friends, family, colleagues in fact anyone you know.

How to connect

Most of us have a list of contacts on our phone or iCloud account. Importing all or some of these contacts is a great way to build up your Connections list in a quick and easy way. Connections need to be invited and must accept their invite before becoming a verified Connection so you will need to start by selecting which contacts you would like to invite.

Import your contacts

  1. Once signed in, tap the Connections button on the home screen.
  2. From the Connections overview screen tap “Invite your contacts”
  3. You should now be presented with a list of your contacts
  4. Select the contacts you would like to connect with on Escendant and then tap “Done” (top right)
  5. Your contacts you want to invite should now be listed and selected. If you are happy then tap “Invite contacts”. You can also unselect anyone from the list of invitees
  6. An email invite will be sent to all the contacts you selected. You can see anyone you’ve selected by tapping on “Invitations sent” from the connections overview screen.

You can also send out single invites to anyone you’d like to connect with:

  1. Tap the + icon near the bottom of the Connections overview screen
  2. On the invite screen add the name and email address of the person you’d like to connect with. Make sure the email you add is correct as this is where we’ll send your invite.
  3. Select a security group for your new Connection. Read more on security groups, you can skip this bit for now if you want.
  4. Tap “Invite” and your invite / connection request will be delivered to the recipient in the form of an email with a link to the app
  5. Once your invited connection has installed the Escendant app and created an account they will be notified of your connection request giving them the opportunity to accept or decline.

Accepting and declining invites

Anyone receiving a connection request has two main options:

  • Accept accepting the connection request means you are both connected.
  • Decline declining a connection request means you do not wish to connect.

Accepting a connection invite:

When you accept a connection request you are allowing the sender to share specific Engrams with you. Accepting an invite also makes the sender a part of your connection list meaning you can share your Engrams with them.

  1. Navigate to the connections overview screen typically this is done from the home screen > Tap the "Connections" button
  2. From the connections overview screen tap "Invitations Recieved"
  3. From the list of invites recieved select the Escendant you would like connect with and tap "Accept"
  4. Select which security groups you would like to add your new connection to and tap "Accept"
  5. Close the connection confirmation modal
  6. You are now both connected and your new connection will be able to share Engrams with you just as you can with them (if you wish)

Declining a connection invite:

Connection requests can be sent again once the original request has been declined by the recipient. Declining an connection invite does not stop the invited recipient from sending a connection request to the original invitee should they wish to do so. Connection requests can simply be ignored but you may receive reminders letting you know that you need to make a decision about a connection request.

  1. Navigate to the connections overview screen typically this is done from the home screen > Tap the "Connections" button
  2. From the connections overview screen tap "Invitations Recieved"
  3. From the list of invites recieved select the Escendant you would like to decline and tap "Decline"
  4. If you are sure you wish to decline tap "Confirm" on the decline confirmation modal

Revoking a connection request

If you have second thoughts about a connection request it can be revoked if the invited user has not already accepted or declined your invite. Revoking a connection does not notify the invited user.

  1. In the connection overview screen tap “Invitations sent”
  2. Tap “Revoke invite” on the card of the person wish to revoke your invite from
  3. Confirm by tapping “Revoke” again in the confirmation modal
  4. Your list of sent invites will now be revised
  5. If the invited user accepts or declines after you have revoked the connection will not be made

Removing connections

You are always in control of who you are connected with. It’s important to remember that by default connections are two-way; removing a connection from your list will stop you sharing any new Engrams with them but it will not stop a disconnected user sharing their Engrams with you. Disconnection is a silent operation meaning you can disconnect without the user you are disconnecting from being notified on the Escendant Platform. You can re-invite a disconnected user to connect with you at a later date.

  1. In the connection overview screen tap on “Verified Escendant Connections” to see a full list of your connections
  2. Find the connection you would like to remove and then tap “Manage connection”
  3. On the manage connection screen tap the “Disconnect” button
  4. Confirm disconnection by tapping “Confirm” on the confirmation modal
  5. You should now see a revised list of connections

Blocking connections

Blocking a user stops and blocks all connections between yourself and another user on the Escendant platform. Connections for both parties (the blocker and the blocked) will no longer exist. It will no longer possible for a blocked user to invite or interact with the blocking users Escendant.

To block a user in your connection list:

  1. In the connection overview screen tap on “Verified Escendant Connections” to see a full list of your connections
  2. Find the connection you would like to block and then tap “Manage connection”
  3. On the manage connection screen tap the “Block” button
  4. Confirm block by tapping “Confirm” on the confirmation modal
  5. You should now see a revised list of connections

Blocked users can be unblocked by the original blocker - for more information on blocking and unblocking users view our guide on user security.

Sharing Engrams

By default your Connections will not have any visibility to any of the Engrams you create. Only when you add a connection to a security group will they be able to view any Engrams associated with that group. As an example if you added a sibling to a security group called “Extended Family” then your sibling would be able to view any of your Engrams that you have marked for inclusion in the “Extended Family” group. Any new Engrams that you create would also be shared with your sibling. Security groups are covered in more details in our Security Group guide.